importing

Jul 1, 2010 at 2:53 AM

I have tried to find more chemical names or structures to use in the Chemical Add-In for Word.  There are only 6 in the gallery, but I have yet to type in a name as a chemical zone and get it to respond with a structure.  I used common compounds, like caffeine, glucose, or methanol.  All were deemed "unknown."  How do I find what compounds are available, or how do I import them?

As a chemistry teacher, I see this type of program being very useful for creating worksheets, tests, etc for my classes.  I would love to be able to use the add-in to its fullest, but cannot seem to do so now. 

Please advise.

ml Verdi-Korte

Developer
Jul 5, 2010 at 4:47 PM
mlverdikorte wrote:

I have tried to find more chemical names or structures to use in the Chemical Add-In for Word.  There are only 6 in the gallery, but I have yet to type in a name as a chemical zone and get it to respond with a structure.  I used common compounds, like caffeine, glucose, or methanol.  All were deemed "unknown."  How do I find what compounds are available, or how do I import them?

As a chemistry teacher, I see this type of program being very useful for creating worksheets, tests, etc for my classes.  I would love to be able to use the add-in to its fullest, but cannot seem to do so now. 

Please advise.

ml Verdi-Korte

Hi, 

The easiest way to find out which chemicals are included in the smart tag dictionary is to look in the file "<install-directory>\SmartTag\smart-tag-dict.xml". Which version of the add-in are you using and also which version of Word?